Deutschland 8 – German Art in Beijing

September 16 – Ocotober 31, 2017 | 8 exhibtion venues in Beijing, China

In response to the successful inter-city exhibition “China 8 – Contemporary Art from China in the Rhine and Ruhr Area“ in 2015, the Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur e.V. (Foundation for Art and Culture) and the Central Academy of Fine Art in Beijing are planning to present the much anticipated exhibition “Deutschland 8” for 2017.

The exhibition aims to bring closer the diversity of the German art scene with established and emerging positions to the Chinese audience. Painting, sculpture, installation, photography and video art will be simultaneously on view at eight different, renowned museum venues throughout Beijing. New works as well as key works by the most important artists will highlight the historical context and developments in German Art from 1945 to the present day, but also focus on current artistic topics and contents.

Mr. Fan Di’an, Director of the Central Academy of Fine Arts and an iconic figure in the Chinese art scene, and Mr. Walter Smerling, chairman of the Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur e.V., also an expert on Contemporary Art himself, will be collectively responsible for the curatorial concept.

Deutschland 8” is the continuation of the intercultural dialogue between China and Germany, which successfully started with the exhibition “CHINA 8” in 2015. With this project we aim to contribute to the intensification of the Sino-German relationship and at the same time giving the Chinese audience the unique opportunity to experience Germany and its cultural diversity through the perspective of art .

Exhibtion Venues:

  • Taimiao
  • National Art Museum of China
  • Cafa Museum
  • Today Art Museum
  • Beijing Minsheng Museum
  • Red Brick Museum
  • Yuan Art Museum
  • Prince Gong‘s Mansion

Deutschland 8 – German Art in Beijing

16. September – 31. Okotober 2017 | An 8 musealen Orten in Peking, China

Als Antwort auf die städteübergreifende Ausstellung „China 8 – Zeitgenössische Kunst aus China an Rhein und Ruhr“ wird sich die aktuelle Kunstszene Deutschlands 2017 in einem Großprojekt in Peking präsentieren. An acht musealen Orten werden in der chinesischen Hauptstadt die Ausstellung „Deutschland 8“ gezeigt. Das Projekt wird in Kooperation von der Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur e.V. und der Central Academy of Fine Art in Peking organisiert.

Die Ausstellung soll die Vielfalt der deutschen Kunstszene mit etablierten und jungen Positionen dem interessierten chinesischen Publikum näher bringen. Malerei, Skulptur, Installation sowie Fotografie und Videokunst werden gattungs- und themenbezogen an den acht unterschiedlichen Orten gezeigt. Dabei soll anhand neuer wie auch anhand von Schlüsselwerken der Künstler die historischen Zusammenhänge und Entwicklungen der Kunst in Deutschland seit 1945 bis in die Gegenwart nachgezeichnet werden.

Für das kuratorische Konzept werden Fan Dian, Rektor der Central Academy of Fine Art, und Walter Smerling, Vorsitzender der Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur und Direktor des MKM Museum Küppersmühle, gemeinschaftlich verantwortlich sein.

Deutschland 8“ ist die Fortsetzung des interkulturellen Dialogs zwischen China und Deutschland, der mit der Ausstellung „CHINA 8“ 2015 erfolgreich gestartet ist.  Mit diesem Projekt wollen wir einen Beitrag zur Intensivierung der deutsch-chinesischen Beziehung leisten und gleichzeitig dem chinesischen Publikum die einmalige Möglichkeit geben, Deutschland und seine kulturelle Vielfalt durch den Blickwinkel der Kunst zu erleben.

Ausstellungsorte:

  • Taimiao
  • National Art Museum of China
  • Cafa Museum
  • Today Art Museum
  • Beijing Minsheng Museum
  • Red Brick Museum
  • Yuan Art Museum
  • Prince Gong‘s Mansion